Softball Qualifier EventRoad To Tokyo: WBSC reveals groups and schedule for the Softball Qualifier Event Europe/Africa

10 July 2019

The World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) today revealed the groups and schedule for the Softball Qualifier Event Europe/Africa, where the participating teams can win a ticket for the Olympic Games in Tokyo 2020. The groups are determined following a live draw conducted at the WBSC headquarters in the Olympic Capital.

“Now all the teams aiming to advance to Tokyo 2020 know their rivals, and the road to Tokyo 2020 is clear for everyone,” said WBSC Softball Chairman, Tommy Velazquez. “In the next months, the world will see the best softball nations competing for the Olympic dream, with only four berths available in the next Olympic Games. Good luck to everyone”.

Softball Qualifier Event Europe/Africa

Group A: No. 10 Netherlands, No. 12 Great Britain, No. 35 Spain and No. 28 South Africa.
Group B: No. 9 Italy, No. 26 France, No. 15 Czech Republic and No. 43 Botswana.

The qualifying event will be held at Sportpark de Paperclip in Utrecht, The Netherlands, from 23-27 July. The top six National Teams from the European Softball Championship 2019 final standings and the top two National Teams from the African Softball Championship 2019 final standings have qualified for this event and will battle for one berth in Tokyo 2020.

With the groups drawn, the teams have also known their rivals for each day of competition.

Also today the draw took place for the Qualifying Tournament in Asia/Oceania, which will be played in Shanghai from September 24-28. The draw for the WBSC Softball Americas Qualifier already took place in April. This tournament will be played in Surrey, British Columbia, Canada, from 25 August to 1 September. The top two nations in the WBSC Women’s Softball World Rankings, No. 1 USA and No. 2 Japan, are the only teams already qualified for the softball’s historic Olympic return in 2020. The U.S. qualified for the six-team Olympic event through winning the WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship in 2018, while Japan received an automatic quota as the host nation.


The top eight softball teams from the Europe-Africa region will travel to the Netherlands and compete at the Take Off to Tokyo in 2019. The tournament will be hosted in Utrecht from the 23rd to the 27th of July, and will showcase six European and two African countries as they battle it out on the softball field. Eight teams will compete, but only one team will earn their ticket to Tokyo.


Softball Qualifier Event Europe/Africa

Sportpark de Paperclip
Parkzichtlaan 201
3451 GX Vleuten